Added new page with common email settings

as we get more and more requests for support we are going to be adding more and more settings. and btw, thanks to all the users who have actually asked for help instead of just giving us a 1 star review, we really, really, really appreciate it.

Click here to see the common email providers.

42 Responses to Added new page with common email settings

  1. Jennifer says:

    Read the reveiws and would like for u to help me 🙂

    • Matt says:

      Jennifer,

      judging by the post email, you want the hotmail settings?

      Email Address: youremail@hotmail.com
      Smtp Server: smtp.live.com
      Smtp Port: 587
      Username: youemail@hotmail.com
      Password: yourpassword
      Use SSL: ON
      Requires Auth: ON

      if you want some other email’s settings, please just ask! it’s no problem at all.

      thanks,
      matt
      hfi development

  2. Kevin says:

    Yes i need the setup for yahoo please

    • Matt says:

      Kevin, do you have yahoo plus? It’s the paid version if yahoo email. In order to have SMTP access with yahoo you have to have that. It’s one of the main reasons I switched to gmail a few years ago, they don’t charge for it.

      Lemme know!

      Thanks,
      Matt
      Hfi development

  3. Claire says:

    It’s not working. I copied the settings from jennifers post but used my earthlink email address

  4. Stacey says:

    Hi, I’m needing help. I keep getting Failed to send message because of unable to connect to server.
    I did the settings :

    Email Address: youremail@hotmail.com
    Smtp Server: smtp.live.com
    Smtp Port: 587
    Username: youemail@hotmail.com
    Password: yourpassword
    Use SSL: ON
    Requires Auth: ON

    for my hotmail account.
    Don’t know what’s wrong with it. Help please, thank you. (:

    • Matt says:

      Hmm. Can you send me a screen cap of the settings page? (press the power and home button to take a pic of your screen)

      Thanks,
      Matt

  5. Stacey says:

    Blah I can’t get the screenshot to my email. -.-
    But, its just like this.

    Email Address: ****.stacey@hotmail.com
    Smtp Server: smtp.live.com
    Smtp Port: 587
    Username: ****.stacey@hotmail.com
    Password: ********
    Use SSL: ON
    Requires Auth: ON

    • Matt says:

      stacey,

      if you go into your photos on the iphone, you should be able to click the photo, then click the icon in the lower left and choose email.

      thanks,
      matt

    • Matt says:

      also, how long is the timeout and how are you connecting? 3g, wifi, edge?

      thanks,
      matt

  6. Stacey says:


    there you go.

  7. Stacey says:

    um, i gonna guess wifi o-o.

    • Matt says:

      Yea looking at the screen cap it looks like you had or have a poor wifi signal(only one dot), increase the timeout or get closer to your access point(router) and try it?

      Thanks,
      Matt

  8. Stacey says:

    ah nevermind i got it working =] thank you
    now, i just dont know how to receive the texts.

    • Matt says:

      When somebody responds to your text you sent with the app, it will got your hotmail, is your iPod setup to check your hotmail?

      Matt

  9. Stacey says:

    NEVERMINd. Found out how too.
    Blah just a bit tedious for me to go back on email to check my messages and reply back out on the sms text thing. hah. however- its all good other than that (: thank you matt.

    • Matt says:

      once you get that email, you can just respond and it will send the other person another text for free, you don’t have to go back into the app 😉

  10. Matt says:

    Ok I follow the instructioms that u put for hotmail and it didn’t work so do u have to go to settings and set ur email to hotmail or no and I have a ipod touch and have to use wifi

    • Matt says:

      hotmail was having some issues last night. i had somebody else say they couldn’t even send an email from their iphone b/c smtp.live.com wouldn’t respond. try it again today and get back to me, we’ll get u working, no prob!

      matt

  11. Matt says:

    It still is not working even though I set it to hotmail

  12. Matt says:

    I’m not sure I’ll check right now

  13. Matt says:

    Ok yeah I can still send messages on hotmail

  14. jill says:

    hi I was wondering if this app will work in Aruba?
    I’m goign on vacation and the txt fees are crazy
    thanks!

    • Matt says:

      If the hotel has wifi and u connect your phone or touch to it, u should be able to send for free!!

      Matt

  15. Alan wright says:

    Hi mat I’m still struggling I’ll try to tell you everyhing.
    I’m in the uk I get the number from my contacts I’ve tried various combination, standard mobile number, using 44 and 4 both with and without #(whilst dropping the0). I’ve set up a hotmail live account, which was workin but comes up as error message now and I’ve used the iPod settin which uses my sky.com account but still having no luck . Tring to send it to my 02 number tried both 1# and 2# ( just out of interest wot is the differance)
    I hope all this helps you solve my prob as I really wanna use the app and pass it on to my friends cheers alan

    • Matt says:

      Alan, I’m working on this still, doing research and talking to another guy in the uk as well, I’ll let u know something, hopefully soon.

      Thanks,
      Matt

    • Matt says:

      alan,

      basically, take off the preceding 0 off the number, put a 44 on the front. but the problem is the person on o2 has to “turn” it on by sending a text to 212 with “ON” in the sms. but the other problem is it looks like o2 is trying to charge for this service, here in the states they don’t charge for it, not sure why o2 is?

      matt

  16. Liam says:

    Hi matt I have tried this with hotmail, yahoo and gmail, I have put in the settings exactly how you say. I have tried vodafone, orange and o2 with different variations of the number i.e. +44 , +0 , 44 and just the normal number but still no luck – what am I doing wrong as it says that the messages are sending fine with no error.
    Thanks in advance
    liam

  17. Liam says:

    Nope none at all it’s saying that it was sent successfully
    cheers
    lm

  18. Liam says:

    im trying to text to vodafone, orange and o2 (using both – #1 & #2 on 02), i also have full signal for wifi.
    cheers
    lm

    • Matt says:

      ok, i’m talking with another guy trying to get o2 working. it looks like vodafone may have been disabled by vodafone, still looking for more info. i’ll let u know.

      thanks,
      matt

  19. Liam says:

    Ok that’s fine matt and I hope that you get it to working but in the meantime I would like my money back as I have been mis sold an app, my paypal is my email address and if you manage to get it working in the uk please email me and I will of course repurchase as I believe that if this is in a working order it will be great.
    Many thanks
    lm

    • Matt says:

      the company doesn’t have a paypal account, if u’d like a refund, u need to request that from apple b/c of tax issues. btw, i got o2 working…

      thanks,
      matt

  20. Liam says:

    Ok I have deleted the app to reinstall it – it looks
    like it’s going to charge me again, will I be charged?
    Thanks
    lm

    • Matt says:

      not sure how itunes does that, i haven’t ever tried to do it. i put a post up on the front page of the website that describes o2.

      thanks,
      matt

  21. Ann says:

    Hi there! I downloaded the apps in my iPod touch. Need help, how to set up? Thanks

Leave a Reply

